I can't resist taking pictures of trees!

I love taking tree pictures

 

Last Friday you probably noticed that I was away from the computer…it’s because I had a full-on, productive-ass day planned! Dave and I hiked up to Evanston (about 20 minutes by car). I parked him at a Starbucks so that he could work on a paper for law school and I went and had lunch with a woman who owns her own real estate consulting company. She was great, and it felt good to be making a connection. She took me to a place called the “Pancake House” and I ate something called an “apple pancake.” I can’t really describe it except to say that it looked like someone had put pastry dough, apples, caramel, and sugar into a cast iron pan, melted it all together, and up-ended it on a plate. It was dee-lish. It was also 1700 calories, which I didn’t find out until after I wolfed down about three-quarters of it.

Then we went over to Kellogg (also in Evanston) and I showed myself around a bit, hoping that someone would notice me and be like, “Oh, we know YOU! We just decided to offer you admission to the class of 2009!”

THEN I went and bought Twilight. You know, that vampire book? Yeah. I actually think I’m going to devote a whole post to that.

THEN we went to Dave’s cousin’s birthday party and had some delicious Mexican food.

Annnnyhoooo, to make up for no posts on Friday or over the weekend (it was a busy busy weekend), here are some pictures from our tromp around Evanston. Please to enjoy:

A frozen river

A frozen river

You can see where the water turns into ice

You can see where the water turns into ice

Evanston train tracks

Evanston train tracks

Model-esque

Model-esque

A typical street in Evanston. Gorge.

A typical street in Evanston. Gorge.

 

My freakishly short hair, in the sunlight

My freakishly short hair, in the sunlight

I don’t know, man, I could see myself moving there and then forcing you and Molly and Aubrey and my parents to follow.

