blog-pictures-0371

I’m realizing that my T-giving cooking posts sort of read like an ode to Smitten Kitchen. But I do love her so. She comes up with new twists on food that I would never even think of hunting down on my own.

So, to top off my T-giving food extravaganza, I give you: pumpkin bread pudding. So easy, so delicious, such a crowd-pleaser, that you really have no excuse for not making this immediately.

blog-pictures-0221

I had this rock-hard loaf of untouched, two-day-old French bread from Trader Joe’s. I’m not kidding about how hard it was. I accidentally dropped it on my foot (five second rule!!!!) and now I have a bruise there. Also, I didn’t have a serrated knife (I can’t wait until we start getting stuff off our wedding registry) so used my Santoku. I won’t lie; it wasn’t easy. But it wasn’t as hard as, say, cutting butter into pie dough either.

After you’ve cubed approximately five cups of bread (this ended up being roughly 2/3 of the loaf I had), melt 3/4 of a stick of butter and pour it on the cubes, stirring to coat all of them.

blog-pictures-0311

In another bowl, whisk together:

1 1/2 cups whole milk (Or 1 cup heavy cream plus 1/2 cup whole milk)
3/4 cup canned solid-pack pumpkin
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs plus 1 yolk
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg*
Splash of vanilla extract*
Splash of almond extract*

* The nutmeg, vanilla, and almond extract were improvs of mine because I didn’t have the other ingredients in the recipe. I felt like a rebel about the almond extract because I’m sure that any chef worth his or her salt would probably hate on me for that.

Also, I totes eyeballed all of the spices. My measuring spoons were in the dishwasher already. 

Dump the mixture onto the bread cubes and stir.

blog-pictures-032

Put the mixture into an 8×8 pan and slide it in a 350-degree oven. The instructions say for 25-30 minutes, but I left mine in for 40 minutes. The way I could tell it was done was by pressing down on it with my spoon. If the egg mixture squidged out, I knew that it wasn’t set yet.

When you’re done, take it out and eat it as soon as you won’t get a third-degree burn in your mouth. You’ll die. DIE!

blog-pictures-0341

Strangely, peeps seemed to prefer this dish at the T-giving dinner I went to. I actually prefer the nutmeg maple pie…no, the bread pudding…no, the pie…no, the pudding…gah. The point is, I ate wayyyy too much.

