I saw this recipe on Smitten Kitchen and immediately felt the siren call of potatoes, mustard, garlic, and lemon – the quadfecta of dee-lish, if you will. Also, Dave was happy to go along with the dish because potatoes are so cheap. He’s not a fan of my kitchen forays when they involve 18-dollar Italian jars of balsamic vinegar jelly. We threw this together about an hour and a half before we left for our first T-giving dinner. I was sort of going kooky at that point, muttering to myself and being completely incapable of forming complete sentences because I was on cooking overload. So he very sweetly offered to help by washing and slicing the potatoes, and by helping me toss and roast them. (He also independently decided that he would like to make mulled wine for our T-giving evening, which I found unbearably cute. He did everything by himself and it was delicious and warm just before bed. Jesse would have been proud.)

blog-pictures-0451

The recipe is simple (I would half this* if you were just making it for two, unless you feel like having tons of leftovers, which wouldn’t be a bad thing):

1. Whisk together 1/2 a cup of Dijon mustard (I didn’t have the grainy kind, although I think the dish would have been even better if I had), 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 2 tablespoons of melted butter, the juice of one lemon, the zest of 2 lemons, 1 teaspoon of salt, and a tablespoon of garlic paste (or whatever that stuff is) (I really should look into that soon) (but not right now). We forgot the oregano, which I’m sure would have been good, but I certainly didn’t miss it.

2. Hopefully you’ve used your biggest bowl for this, because next you dump in all of the potatoes and toss them until they’re coated in the mustard mixture.

*You know what? On second thought, I think this would be INCREDIBLE if you didn’t half the mustard mixture, but DID half the amount of potatoes. Yes. That would be amazing. Granted, maybe with grainy mustard it would be a little too intense, but if you’re using the smooth kind, make as much of the mustard mixture as you can because holy crap it’s run-on-sentencely delicious.

3. SPRAY TWO COOKIE SHEETS (we forgot to do that and ended up wih a few casualties that cleaved to the sheets during the roasting process). Spread the potatoes evenly on each sheet and slide them into your 425-degree oven, one sheet on the top rack and one on the bottom. After 20 minutes, stir the potatoes around a bit and swap the sheets’ positions. Leave for 25 minutes and prepare yourself for amazing, amazing amazingness.

blog-pictures-046

One little sidenote: by the time we got these to the first T-giving dinner (in a glass bowl covered in tin foil), they were already a tiny bit soggy and not as crispy-delicious as they were right out of the oven. They were still bomb, though. And I hate myself for using that word, but there’s really no better expression for the way I felt when I ate them. Anyway, I’d recommend either serving the potatoes immediately, or keeping them on the cookie sheets and sticking them in a 350+ degree oven for about five minutes just before you dish them out.

