Dave’s mom, Susan, has an old notebook in her office where she has written down every single book she’s read, and the date she finished it, since she was in college. She reads more than anyone I think I’ve ever met, and usually has about three or four books going at once, which absolutely knocks my socks off.

blog-pictures-021

My book book

Last year I decided to start a notebook of my own. I don’t read as much as Susan, but it’s nice to look back and see what I’ve been filling my mind with all year. Plus, I’m blonde enough that sometimes I forget that I’ve already read a book until just before the end, when I’m like “CRAP! I already know what HAPPENS!” And then there are old friends on my bookshelf that I love to re-read. It’s nice to look back and see when I turned to them (like East of Eden, my favorite book in the history of favorite books, which I read after finishing the GMAT last spring).

 

blog-pictures-024So the reason I’m writing this now is because I just finished the last book in the Twilight series. I read all four books in about 9 days, which averages out to about 245 pages a day (there was one 700 page day – or night, really – that throws my average, though). The books were so addictive that I ended up losing sleep over them. I always do my reading in bed as I fall asleep, but for the last nine days I’ve been staying up till 2 or 3 in the morning with these books, only to wake at 6 from my excitement over what happens next. I’ll be honest; before I read the books I thought they were nerdy vampire novels that people who used to play with Magic Cards would swoon over. Not so. Trust me on this: they’re as fun to read as Harry Potter. Not as good as the Golden Compass series, but almost. Anyway, now I’m at a loss because I don’t know what to read next. I hate finishing a great book and then reading something mediocre that I don’t feel passionate about. So I’m asking you ladies (and anyone else who reads this blog!) to tell me what to read next. What’s the best, most addictive book you’ve ever read?

Just for fun, here’s the list of books I’ve read in 2008:

2008-books

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman*
The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman*
The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman*

Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett*
Eat, Pray, Love by Liz Gilbert
Loving Frank by Nancy Horan
East of Eden by John Steinbeck*
Gods Behaving Badly by Marie Phillips*

Sammy’s House by Kristin Gore
Three Cups of Tea (unfinished)
People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks* (Dave’s mom’s pick for this year)
The Six Wives of Henry VIII (nonfiction) by Alison Weir*
The Last Templar by Raymond Khoury
Helen of Troy by Margaret George*
Devil in the White City (nonfiction) by Eric Larson
The Little Lady Agency and the Prince by Hester Browne
Daughter of Fortune by Isabel Allende (during Molly and Jesse’s wedding!)
Lipstick Jungle by Candice Bushnell
The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory
Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana by Anne Rice
Empress of Ireland by Christopher Robbins
Twilight by Stephenie Meyer*
New Moon by Stephenie Meyer*
Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer*
Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer*

*Stars mean that I friggin LOVED the books so much that I could puke. As you can see, the first part of the year had some great reads. Then I went through a bit of a slump. I feel like the Twilight books really pulled me out of it, and I don’t want to ruin it now with a book that doesn’t get my engines going.

Now what?!?!?!! I’m debating between Edgar Sawtell and The Mists of Avalon, but I’m very open to other suggestions. HALP!!!

