Hey Linds (and other randos who read this) – you’ve probably noticed that I haven’t been around for the last couple of days. I miss g-chatting with you! But here’s why: wait. Before I tell you why: you know how I was on that t.v. show? And then you know how the producer of that t.v. show offered me a part-time job? Right. Well, I’m not going to mention the actual t.v. show or the network that it’s on, because I’m not sure if I’m allowed to. So that’s why I’m about to be annoyingly vague. Basically, the reason I haven’t been around is because I’ve been officially hired as an “Associate Producer,” which sounds flashy, but basically means that I’m this producer’s right-hand lady. I do everything from filing expense reports to going and meeting with peeps who are going to be on the show. Today, for example, I got to go visit this man who founded one of Chicago’s fine arts museums. I can’t even begin to describe how amazing his home was. He had original art covering every inch of his home, by artists like Dali, Picasso, Manet, Lautrec…to name a few. Not to mention priceless sculptural works dating back to ancient Greece. Good lord. And he’s close, personal friends with just about any Democratic politician you can name, in addition to other amazing people like Maya Anjelou and Barbara Streisand. I was so breathlessly impressed when I came home that all I could do was stutter when Dave asked me how my day was.

So, yes, I’ve been (gulp) working for the past couple of days. Originally I was supposed to come in once a week, but my new boss and I hit it off so well that so far he keeps asking for me to return. It’s weird, I feel like this job stalked me down and swallowed me. In a good way. It’s been fun, and it’s nice to actually have something to do with my days, especially since this arrangement is casual enough that I feel as though I have complete control over the situation (fear of losing control is what keeps me up at night…I know you feel me on that).

I wanted an image for this post, so I did a Google image search for a word that would symbolize my transition between staying home all day and going to work: cubicle. Hilariously, this is what I found. There’s gotta be a drinking game hidden somewhere in the Google image search function. Ooo, ooo, I thought of one! Two teams, plus a neutral third-party judge: the judge chooses a word and the two teams have 30 seconds to find the most hilarious Google image possible with that word in the search phrase. If both teams choose the same image, everyone pounds a beer. Otherwise, the judge picks the best picture, and the losing team must drink. BAM. GREAT game. We’re playing it when I come home.

cubicle

