suze-orman

I don’t know about you, but I’m stuh-ressing about money in this new year (okay, and last year too). Suze Orman is on Oprah today, and for the next week you can download her new book, Suze Orman’s 2009 Action Plan: Keeping Your Money Safe and Sound, for free! Good lord, I love Oprah. And Suze. Click here to get the book.

Suze is the last word in tough financial love. She takes the emotion out of spending money and leaves you with a realistic, do-able action plan. While I was in Seattle, I ran into two gals who I went to middle and high school with. I got to talking with them and found out that, though they’re roommates, they could not come up with $20 between them to pay their already-late rent. They were facing eviction. Part of me felt sorry for them, because I know that growing up in relative comfort on Bainbridge Island doesn’t always teach solid financial skills. Still, after chatting with them for a while I realized that the reason they were in this situation was because they had too much pride to downgrade their lifestyle. Sure, moving back in with your parents at 24 isn’t ideal, but it’s better than having creditors hunt you down. That’s the crux of Suze’s approach to money: don’t live outside of your means. It’s kind of rough to hear, but it’s true. I’ll for sure be downloading and scarfing up every little word of her new book.

