Well hello. It has taken me awhile (emphasis on the H) to get around to posting, and for that I apologize. My defense is threefold: 1) Nursing school is the devil. 2) I am slightly weary of forms of technology with which I am unfamiliar (remember how I didn’t have a cell phone until the very end of senior year?) And perhaps the crux of the issue, 3) I am no chef. Which brings me to the subject of this post.

 

In the past year, two of my dear friends have morphed into super sophisticated foodies, and frankly, they’ve left me in the dust. Not only are they comfortable in the kitchen, but they are knowledgeable. They use things like rice wine vinegar, and cumin. They invent dressings and sauces and bake cakes for fun. They modify ingredients and offer one another tips. It’s enough to drive any sane, culinarily challenged woman to drink. Which is what I do, while they’re cooking for me. For my long belated and much anticipated first post, I thought it only appropriate to pay homage to these talented ladies. Behold, two glimpses of Lindsey and Wiggs’ talents.
 
Red Velvet Cake

Red Velvet Cake

Lindsey might tell you this cake was a failure, but she would be lying. We each had one slice when she brought it over, and notice how much is left on the plate. I have no idea how that happened.

Toasted rasin bread sandwhich with green apples and dubliner cheese!

Toasted rasin bread sandwhich with green apples and dubliner cheese!

Now it must be said that this sandwich is in no way fully representative of Wiggs’ capabilities. It is, however, the only recipe/set of instructions she has shared with me that I felt comfortable replicating. It is simply delish!

