Okay, this post was bound to happen someday. I’ll just put it all in one ginormous entry and be done with it.

My eyeshadow drawer. Hi, I'm Wiggs, and I have a makeup addiction.

My eyeshadow drawer. Hi, I'm Wiggs, and I have a makeup addiction.

I’m pretty good about bringing a makeup bag with me wherever I go, just in case I get sprayed in the face by a water gun or my oil glands decide to work double-time. But it never fails that when a makeup trauma actually occurs, that’s the one day that I decided to leave my makeup at home because I got sick of lugging it around and never using it.

So I decided to make a desert island emergency kit, containing only three things. That’s it. For a girl with an entire chest of drawers full of makeup, this is a huge challenge. (Which is sad)

 

 

When I first decided to choose a holy trinity of makeup I pictured myself lovingly combing through my makeup drawers, gently holding each little tube or compact in the palm of my hand, agonizing over whether it would make the cut, wiping away a tear of empathetic remorse as I softly placed the little reject back in its crowded home…

 

 

But then I thought of a better idea. I’ll just figure out which products I use every single time I put on makeup and choose between those. And conveniently, there are only three such items. Can you believe it? I have a whole trove devoted to cosmetics in my house (like Ariel’s mermaid cave except with eye shadow instead of human artifacts) and this whole time I’ve only ever depended on three products*?! Mind boggling.

 blog-pictures-052

 

So here, in no particular order, are The Chosen Ones:

·        Bare Minerals foundation in light. I usually pair this one with the mineral veil, but since it’s powder it will get rid of shine if I don’t have anything else to use.

·        Black pressed eye shadow. I use a random brand called Custom Colors that I bought once at Nordstrom Rack, and have never been able to find anything else that works as well. With an angled brush I can do a ton of shizz to myself, from a line that makes my lashes look thicker to a full-on smoky eye that would make raccoons cower before my raccooniness.

·        Stila Major Lash mascara in black. If you put on one coat of this stuff, you get that natural “I just got out of the pool” look, but you can gob it on for Liza Minnelli eyelashes too. Which is what I do every time. I can’t help it! I feel naked without it!

 

Runners up, if I were to allow myself more than three products, would include Cargo Blu-Ray blush/highlighter, because sometimes my pale, pale skin takes on a little too much of a death-sheen, and Stila eye shadow in Kitten, a universal color that can be used as face highlighter in a pinch.

Cargo Blu-Ray Blush/Highlighter

Cargo Blu-Ray Blush/Highlighter

 

Stila Eye Shadow in Kitten

Stila Eye Shadow in Kitten

 

I’m also in love with any Stila lip gloss (like Grapefruit) because I’m a sucker for cool packaging. You ladies know the magic of Korres lip gloss (this color’s called Light Purple, but if it’s not pink then I’m a monkey’s uncle). And, for when I need eye shadow that won’t budge, even when I get hit in the face with a water balloon, Urban Decay’s Eye Shadow Potion is incred.

They look like skyscrapers...the most glorious skyscrapers ever

They look like skyscrapers...the most glorious skyscrapers ever

And finally, if I’m doing Molly’s makeup for her wedding, or if I want to look totally gorge, Stila shimmer in *4 and Pop Beauty’s smokey eyes #5 shade are perfect. Side note: I used these colors on me, Vanessa, Hovey, and Molly during her bachelorette party and they were flattering and different on each person.

 

 blog-pictures-055

Pop Beauty #5 (in the center-ish)

Pop Beauty #5 (in the center-ish)

But then, what good is makeup without a nice surface beneath it? After years of experimenting, I’ve found the secret (for me) to staying oil-free and keeping my makeup as smooth as possible: Proactiv Daily Oil Control, followed by Philosophy On A Clear Day protection cream.

The Power-Combo

The Power-Combo

Okay, now it’s your turn – what do you use every time you put on makeup?

*Note: just because I only DEPEND on three products doesn’t mean I don’t NEED all of my makeup. I need all of it. There. I said it. I need a whole chest full of cosmetics.

