I have a theory about food: mini-versions never fail to impress EVERYONE. It’s like you went back to the 80s and stole that machine in Honey I Shrunk the Kids. People always think you took a ton of time and effort, lovingly hand-crafting each little bite-sized morsel into a mouthful of bliss.
Teeny tiny goat cheese polenta pizza!

Teeny tiny goat cheese polenta pizza!

And what’s more, it’s only got four easy-to-find ingreeds!

Polenta, goat cheese, tomatoes, and basil

Polenta, goat cheese, tomatoes, and basil

All you have to do is go grab a polenta log (usually by the pasta in the grocery store), whatever type of goat cheese you prefer, tomatoes, and fresh basil.

I’ll admit, the polenta log is a bit…weird. It comes out of the plastic and…still looks made of plastic.

It's not plastic! I promise! It's just cornmeal.

It's not plastic! I promise! It's just cornmeal.

Unwrap it and slice it into discs. Put the discs on a cookie sheet (and don’t worry about leaving much room between each; they won’t spread at all. Also, now is probably a good time to turn on your oven’s broiler.

Next, dice your tomatoes.

See my new white knife? I made Dave buy it for me while we were registering. Hee hee.

See my new white knife? I made Dave buy it for me while we were registering. Hee hee.

 Next, chop your basil.

Can you smell it?

Can you smell it?

From there, it’s easy. There are two methods for assembling your mini-pizzas: a) Grab your boyfriend and make him do the rest, or b) put a couple of tomatoes and some crumbles of goat cheese over each one, and sprinkled basil on the top. (I did option B today.)

Aren't they pretty?

Aren't they pretty?

I was able to fit all of them onto one cookie sheet, which made a good light snack for 3-4 people (okay, Dave and I ate all of them in one sitting, but we’ve both got this problem where we can’t stop eating if there’s still food left).

I'm putting my Oneida baking sheets to good use

I'm putting my Oneida baking sheets to good use

Stick ’em under the broiler for 5 minutes, or until the cheese is brown and awesome-looking, and WHAMMO! Impressive hors d’oeuvres in MINUTES!

You KNOW it.

You KNOW it.

I’m having some ladies over tomorrow night and I plan on serving these little dudes. I plan on insinuating that I slaved all day in the kitchen over them.

